Developing Leadership and Administrative Excellence: A Workshop for New Academic Administrators

August 5, 6 and 13, 2019
Henry Center for Executive Development, 3535 Forest Rd., Lansing, MI 48910
Room B-106-107

(Note: all meetings begin with a continental breakfast at 7:30 a.m., include lunch, and conclude by 3:00 p.m.)

All materials linked below were current as of the date they were presented. If you have questions about policies or protocols, please contact the relevant offices.

Monday, August 5: MSU Cultures and Values

Program Overview and Introductions

Theodore H. Curry IIAssociate Provost and Associate Vice President for Academic Human Resources 

The Provost’s Perspective

June Pierce Youatt, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Office of the Provost

A Culture of High Performance

Satish UdpaExecutive Vice President for Administrative Services and University Distinguished Professor


Samuel L. Stanley Jr., M.D., President, Michigan State University

MSU Audit, Risk and Compliance

Marilyn Tarrant, Associate Vice President and Chief Audit, Risk and Compliance Officer (OARC)


Merri Jo Bales, Vice President and Strategic Director, University Communications

Emily Gerkin Guerrant, Vice President and University Spokesperson, Public and Media Information

Development and Fundraising

Sarah Blom, Executive Director, Individual Giving, University Advancement

Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives

Paulette Granberry Russell, Director, Office for Inclusion and Intercultural Initiatives and Senior Advisor to the President

Panel of Associate Provost Offices

DeAndra Beck,  Associate Dean, International Studies and Programs

Thomas Jeitschko, Associate Provost and Dean, Graduate Education

Mark Largent, Interim Associate Provost and Dean, Undergraduate Education

Laurie Van Egeren, Interim Associate Provost for University Outreach and Engagement

Tuesday, August 6: Leading and Managing at MSU


Theodore H. Curry II, Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Academic Human Resources

MSU Academic Human Resources

Theodore H. Curry II, Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Academic Human Resources

The Legal and Regulatory Environment: Overview of Resources

Robert Kent, Interim Associate Vice President, Office of Civil Rights and Title IX Office Education and Compliance

Theresa Kelley, Associate General Counsel

Rebecca Nelson, Associate General Counsel and FOIA Officer

Student Affairs and Services

Denise Maybank, Vice President, Student Affairs and Services

Research at MSU

Stephen Hsu, Senior Vice President for Research and Innovation

Doug Gage, Assistant Vice President for Research and Innovation

Paul Hunt, Senior Associate Vice President for Research and Innovation

Charles Hasemann, Assistant Vice President for Innovation and Economic Development, MSU Innovation Center

Jim Pivarnik, Research Integrity Officer


Rachel Croson, Dean, College of Social Science

Thomas Glasmacher,Director, Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB)

Francesca Dwamena,Chairperson, Department of Medicine, College of Human Medicine

Tuesday, August 13: Leading and Managing at MSU


Theodore H. Curry II, Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Academic Human Resources

MSU Budget Overview

Brent Johnston,University Budget Officer, Office of Planning and Budgets

Campus Resource Panel

 Shannon Lynn Burton, University Ombudsperson

Jaimie Hutchison,Lifespan & Family Services Coordinator, WorkLife Office

Francisco Villarruel, Faculty Grievance Official

Dave Weismantel, University Physician

Things That Come Across Our Desk

Kathy LewlessDirector, Academic Human Resources

Melissa Sortman, Director, Academic Human Resources

Kara Yermak, Director, Academic Human Resources

Leading University Support Staff Effectively

 Sharon Butler, Associate Vice President, Human Resources Accompanied by HR team members

Supporting Faculty, Academic Staff and Leaders at MSU

Ann Austin,Interim Associate Provost for Faculty and Academic Staff Development

Jeff Grabill, Associate Provost for Teaching, Learning and Technology

Beronda Montgomery, Assistant Provost for Faculty Development-Research and Scholarship

Reflections from Campus Leaders

Andrea Amalfitano, Dean, College of Osteopathic Medicine

Teresa Mastin, Chair, Advertising and Public Relations, College of Communication Arts & Sciences

Jeff Rayis, Director, Treasury & Financial Management

David Rayl, Associate Dean, College of Music and Recipient of the 2019 Simmons Chivukula Award for Academic Leadership