Simmons Chivukula Award for Academic Leadership

The Academic Advancement Network (AAN) is very pleased to announce a new award in recognition of and appreciation for the hard work and dedication exhibited by academic leaders.  This award of $2,000 is generously sponsored by a gift from Dr. Elizabeth H. Simmons (Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at UC San Diego; former MSU Associate Provost for Faculty and Academic Staff Development and Dean of Lyman Briggs College) and Dr. R. Sekhar Chivukula (current MSU Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education and Dean of Undergraduate Studies).  The award is for exemplary work in academic leadership at the ranks of: department chair, school or unit director, assistant dean, or associate dean.  An individual will be selected annually on the basis of consistently demonstrated excellence in academic leadership, including the dimensions of equity, diversity, and inclusion.

Nominations are requested by Friday, March 30, 2018.  Packets should be sent via email to Cindi Leverich ( in the AAN.  The nominations may be submitted by faculty, staff, students, or individuals across these roles.  It is anticipated that the strongest packets will have broad, collective support.  Once materials are submitted, the AAN will contact the supervisor of the candidate to provide a letter of support if they would like.

Materials to submit

  • Letter of nomination (no more than three pages of text, signatures do not count toward page limit)
  • Candidate’s CV
  • Candidate’s essay on leadership as an MSU administrator, including their philosophy, accomplishments, and impact (no more than 2 pages)

Materials will be reviewed by a committee in April, and the winner will be announced by the AAN near the end of the semester.

If you have any questions, please contact Juli Wade at